My experience going on CTV Morning Live Ottawa

Earlier this week, I had my first experience going on TV, LIVE TV at that! It was amazing. I went back and forth between nervousness and excitement; it could have given me a stomachache.

When I originally got contacted from the CTV Ottawa Morning Live, I was thrilled and anxious. Did I really want to go on live TV and show my identity to locals around me? Did I want to colleagues to know that I blog? I went back and forth thinking do I really want to do this? I did. I wanted to go on TV and show the world Ottawa that not only do I have a full-time day job, balance my day-to-day activities and I also blog.

Before I went on the show, the show’s producer was great and was very clear on what I would be talking about. I put all my favorite mom apps on my iPad Mini ready to demonstrate any of the apps if needed.

While I was waiting in the lobby to go on, a camera guy mentioned that we (my husband came with me for support) were welcome to coffee and donuts. I was too nervous to eat… but I did manage to eat two Timbits.

During the show, I was nervous. Lianne Laing did an excellent job interviewing me and was really professional. She gave me a great tip before we started and helped me sit just the right way. While were chatting on camera, I was getting even more nervous, I kept thinking that I was repeating myself and flubbing my words.

After the show, I was shaking. I couldn’t believe it! I did it! I went on live TV and did an interview! I watched the video and thought I did a pretty good job.

I was hoping that by going on CTV Morning Live new moms found it helpful to learn about my favourite apps. I’m so proud of myself for doing this. I can’t wait to do it again.

If I could do it all over again, here are a few things I would have done differently:

  • Watch some YouTube videos of news anchors that can’t stop laughing while on camera to make myself more relaxed (see above).
  • Put on more makeup.
  • Do my hair!?!?!
  • Drink the coffee.

Have you ever been on TV or live TV? Do you have any tips to make it easier next time (if there is a next time)?

 

 

Today is the last day to enter the LAVISHY wallet giveaway! For more information, visit this blog post

4 comments

Leave a Reply

