R2-D2 in Ottawa’s MakerFaire and Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game

Today, I found out that a friend of mine, has a husband, who is in the process of making a original R2-D2 and today his R2’s head was featured on Ottawa’s CTV Morning Live! Check out the interview here:

August 15, 2014 – CTV Morning Live: Makers2

I have to say, I’m pretty impressed. Not only am I impressed that someone is building one of these from scratch, but also that it will be a beeping talking wiggling machine! That’s really impressive.

Star Wars Fans! I have a question for you. Was the original R2-D2 in the Star Wars movies talking and beeping the way this one does in the video above or was it all movie magic?

Not only was the head  R2-D2 featured on TV this morning, it will also be at the Ottawa Mini MakerFaire this weekend at the Museum of Science and Technology.

What is a MakerFaire? It is a “celebration of the DIY sprit”. It a fair of people who make some pretty cool s*ht. There will be robot makers, engineers, knitters, woodworkers.. It sounds really cool. Tickets to the fair are free with admission to the museum ($12/adults).

Not only did I learn about the work that goes into building an R2-D2 and about Ottawa’s Mini MakerFaire today, I also learned about deck building card games. Today, I was taught how to play  Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game. At first, I thought it was super complicated and difficult to understand, but by the end of the first round, I got it and it actually looks like a lot of fun. I still don’t think I’m ready to be a ‘hero’, but I’m really enjoying the concept of the game and can totally see why this game is so popular. Now to convince my husband to try playing Avengers with me to practice.

Do you play Legendary? Are you going to MakerFaire? Did you see R2-D2 on TV this morning? What are you doing this weekend?

 

3 comments

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed your introduction to Legendary: a Marvel Deck Building Game. Anytime you wanna try your hand at playing a scheme, just let me know. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

