10 Alternatives to Halloween Candy for Trick-or-Treaters

Play-Doh

If you’ve been following me on Instagram you would have seen that I was happy when I saw Halloween Play-Doh being sold at Costco (Yes, I know it’s August). I love Halloween and absolutely love the idea of people giving away “things” rather than candy. I know it’s still summer and my daughter is still very young, but I can’t help but think about what we’re going to do when our daughter brings home pillowcases FULL of candy after a night of tick-o-treating in a few years.

First of all, let me start by staying that I love Halloween. I love the tradition of going trick-or-treating, getting dressed up in a costume and carving pumpkins. I think the whole season is fabulous and I look forward to it every year

I’m not a big fan of candy. I get it though, it’s a kid thing… but I can’t see our family eating that much candy. It’s too much. I love the idea of her “things” or healthy alternatives (juice).

Here are a few ideas of cheap, fun things you could give away at Halloween instead of candy:

  1. Play-Doh (as shown above)
  2. Mini containers of bubbles
  3. Plastic creatures (dinosaurs, farm animals, monsters)
  4. Bracelets 
  5. Mini colouring books (with or without crayons)
  6. Mini note pads (with or without pencils and erasers)
  7. Stickers
  8. Costume accessories (vampire teeth, clown noses)
  9. Fake spiders and snakes
  10. Craft kits to DIY monster magnets (I’ll blog about this later in October)

This blogger at Play Eat Grow has some other really great ideas for alternatives to Halloween candy (juice boxes, nail polish, glow stick bracelets). Check out her blog here.

Do you have any ideas? What have you done in the past?

3 comments

  1. There’s something called Free Comic Book Day that happens in May each year – you can drop by local comic book shops and pick up any number of really cool, free titles that are unique to the day. Last year they also put out bundles of comics for Halloween – you could buy a bundle of something like 10 titles for $5. I thought that was the coolest thing ever, so I picked some up last year – but at the last second I chickened out and bought some candy, too. When kids came to the door I gave them candy but offered them a comic book, if they were interested, and most said yes – so this year I think I will do that alone. Titles ranged from things for the very young like Elmo and Smurfs up to thinks like Spiderman and Ben 10. You can find them at The Comic Book Shoppe (both locations).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

